Home Sweet Home

Standard

Home. When I think of that word a variety of emotions, memories, and people come to mind. For the longest time, home was where I was born and raised, and of course it still is. But over the course of these past three months, the word home means more than that. For example, Paris had become my home in a sense as I had either stayed or traveled through many times during the months I was abroad. It has become a place of familiarity, and with familiarity comes comfort, and nothing gives more comfort than home.

The last month has been nothing short of a mad dash around Europe. Staying in a city no longer than four nights many being only one or two nights, I have been blessed with the opportunity to see so much beauty throughout Europe. From the snowy mountain tops of Switzerland, the art in Barcelona, the quaint countryside of Germany, stunning Christmas markets in Prague and Vienna, to the last minute trip to Budapest, it has all been an extreme blessing and a unforgettable experience of a lifetime.

A recent highlight would be the gorgeous Christmas markets after sunset. My favorite being in Vienna, Austria. There were dozens of brown huts that made up this small village in front of a beautifully, old church. The trees within the market village were decorated with falling icicle lights, hearts, and hot air balloons. Visitors and locals alike strolled the paths with hot chocolate in hand while a band or choir played in concert. Venders sold items anywhere from food and candy to ornaments, clothing, and toys. It was truly magical.

While in Vienna, I had the opportunity to attend an incredible church service. The message of the sermon was about home. How fitting, right?! as the end of my trip is nearly ending. The pastor told a story about how he was lost out in the woods while hunting as a teenager. His father told him to stay put but of course, he decided to explore. The unknown feels safe during the day with plenty of light but as soon as night sets in, it sure can be terrifying. To cut to the chase, after hours alone in the dark, cold woods a light appeared off in the distance and gradually got closer and closer. To his rescue was his father who brought him home. It was a touching message and solidified that our earthly home is a temporary blessing but our heavenly home is our true, permeant home with our Heavenly Father. I am grateful that I am able to feel at home in a variety of places here on earth, especially the place where I grew up. However, my heart leaps for joy knowing that there is more to our lives here on earth, and knowing that through the saving grace of Jesus we will be at home with Him someday.

“For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God.” Ephesians 2:8

**This concludes my blogs from my semester abroad. Only the good Lord knows what’s next and with that more blogs may follow. Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment